A 15-Year-Old’s Take On “The Privileges Of A Teenager”

More than anything, this is musing of a teenager, on the privileges of teenagers.

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY
3 min readMar 5, 2022

--

Source

I didn’t know it but when today I gave it a thought I realised:

Teenagers are at an advantage, or were privileged in one way or another, or whatever you call it.

There are many factors/reasons I can think of at the moment. Enjoy this casual read.

1. Tiiimmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Teenagers have a lot of it. And we waste a lot of it, too. So apparently there’s nothing much to get happy about.

When I reflect on my day I don’t have to jog even 1% of my memory to remember how much time I waste.

By wasting time I mean spending time on things that in the short-term gives you dopamine hit of the world but soon after becomes a regret-manufacturing factory.

Excessive YouTube.
10 min. phone call turned into an hour-long chit-chat.
Binge-watching Netflix (how did you like Money Heist or Dark?)
Okay, can we skip that friends part; all of us know that rant, don’t we?

Ugh! I think I’ll get depressed by simply listing them. So let’s move on.

2. No responsibility

It’s only a matter of time before most of us realise its importance. And by then, it’s too late. It has become a thing of the past.

No responsibilities.
No social responsibilities.
No financial responsibilities.
Freedom to explore a million different things.

That’s a boon that we might never get to experience once this time passes and one of the forms of responsibility would be knocking on our doors.

THAT’S FREEDOM. And in our teenage days, we have it.

3. A choice to start early

As Naval Ravikant says,

“Play iterated games. All the returns in life, whether in wealth, relationships, or knowledge, come from compound interest.”

And if you’ve studied compound interest, you know that the most important factor is nothing but TIME.

And by starting early, you can the option to enjoy the luxury of compound interest.

Teenagers, read that again. I try to make myself remember this same thing every time I start to take things for granted.

4. Curiosity and urge to explore

This one’s a no-brainer.

Children are famous for their innate curiosity. The older we grow the less we question, and the less we remain curious.

It’s as if we’re reaching some saturation level. Yes, maturity is necessary but trying to put out that fire of urge is total stupidity.

And at our teenage phase, we’re adequately curious when compared with the world. Definitely a lot less than pre-teens.

Because of these factors and more, I think teenagers are at an unfair advantage. Whether we realise it or not.

What do you think? Wanna add something?

This article is a part of “A 15-Year-Old’s Take On” series. I’ll be turning 16 on March 16 and I just want to document how I feel or think about certain topics (at this age). And maybe just reflect on them in the future. ☺️

Stay tuned for the next story in this series. Follow me, VRITANT, and this publication, SERENDIPITY, so you don’t miss the upcoming ones.

Until next time, bye! 👋❤️

--

--

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com