I’m Still Searching For a Better Thing To Do Than Staring At My Stats

If you know, please tell me.

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY
2 min readJan 14, 2022

--

Source

I think my Chrome’s screen-time is high because there’s an URL that goes by the name ‘medium.com/me/stats’.

In other words, I just can’t stop staring at my stats. I just can’t resist; it’s so tempting.

It’s great to plan your articles based on the data from your stats. But looking at it every now and then, I don’t think it’ll mean anything. It’ll become some sort of a drug for my egoist brain.

I’m still figuring out how how to combat this situation. If you’ve got any ideas then do share. I’m waiting.

On some thinking (maybe a couple minutes of thinking), here are some points I think can help me—

  • Don’t keep a tab open with stats’ URL all the time. Have something more interesting than that at your disposal.
  • Read and comment more on fellow writers’ work instead of checking out if your recent article got distributed.
  • Try to lessen your overall screentime. Apart from being good for your eyes it can also help to fight this fetish. For that read more physical books.
  • Try to act normal. The more you react, the more mind space it’d consume.
  • Remember, “focus more on the input since the output isn’t in your control.”

*those points and text above contain “you” and “your,” nevertheless, I equally intended to put it as an advice for myself.

I hope I’ll be able to accomplish my ‘less-stats-page-staring’ goal and increase my productivity in the process.

Here’s one article you might want to read + it has a ‘99’ and two ‘49s’ and I’d love to see them as a 100 and 50 respectively. For more visit my profile: VRITANT.

screenshot by me.

Edit: Thank you so much! 🙏😌

screenshot by me

Until next time, bye! 👏☺️❤️

--

--

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com