Chapter 4 —A Behavioral Exam

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi
Published in
3 min readAug 23, 2019

May 28, 2019

It had been several days since my last diary entry, but nothing much had changed since except that I now used to my daily routine.

Every night when the moon shined through the tiny window, and it made me wonder what our owner was up to. Was he desperately searching for us? Did he forget about us? How can I tell him where we are. We both left marking along our path, but I don’t think humans can smell it. My brother gave up all hopes, but I am different than him. I will never give up and will wait here for him.

Wolf told me that our owner abandoned us, but I don’t believe him. Both I and my brother grew up with love. Our owner loved us, gave us a lot of treats, and took us everywhere with him. We hiked all sorts of mountains and hills. We went on endless road trips all over the world. We swam in lakes and best of all at the end of each day we passed out and slept through the night snoring away. There is no way Wolf is right, no way. The moon will guide him to us at night. Our scent will help him track us down. The sun will provide him warm and daylight on his way here. Soon enough he will be here.

Today, I was visited by a beautiful old lady. Her glasses and white jacket reminded me of an old lady who my owner called “the vet”. At first, I was frightened because a visit from “the vet” usually means poky needles or a cold stick up my butt, but she was really nice. She petted me and gave me a treat. Then she took me into a room with four white walls and a bright pink, white, and peach squares tile floors. I am so confused by the bright colors, but I guess it at least was way better than my kennel.

She made me step onto this metal thing and write something down in her notebook. Next, she got this tiny metal stick and up my ass, it went. I called it. I tried so hard to hold in my fart, but it came out and she gave me a look. I mean it was not my fault. The food they gave us here gave me diarrhea and gas. Then, she put a leash on me and I got so excited as that meant I get to go outside. Sadly, she made me sat down, checked my teeth, and inspected my paws. Finally, she walked me outside for like 10 minutes, but man those 10 minutes were the best. The fresh air felt smelled so nice. I sniffed, sniffed, and sniffed so much I think all the bugs went up my nose.

And now I am back in my cage and brick bed sleeping and dreaming that tomorrow will be the same day.

--

--

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi

We are a husband and wife team who love to work on DIY projects.