Chapter 5 — The Return

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2019

--

May 29, 2019

Today started out like any other day, except for that I got visitors! Can you believe it? It made my days and I can’t wait for their returns.

Remember the couple I tried to win over last time? The girl who said I am very pretty? Well, today they were back. As soon as the bright light shines through the window and the rooster stopped crowing this morning, the blue shirt man came to get me. When he put a metal wire around my neck I was fearful for my life. Wolf told me that dogs who have been here for a long time got taken away by the same men and they never return. So, what did I do as soon as he grabbed me? I barked the loudest I could and fought with all my might, but nothing seems to work. The harder I fought, the tighter that metal wires choked me. I came to learn that no matter how hard I fought there was not much I can do, so I said goodbye to my brother and told him I love him. He will always be my and my only brother.

Then, out of my kennel and through two doors we went into this bright room with two angry-looking women behind a table and some couple sad-looking humans sitting on chairs. I thought that was the end of my life, but then the blue shirt man put me into this room and left behind the door. The room had a strong dog and cat smell. I scented all of the other dogs' anger and…I saw grass, blue sky, and best of all freedom.

The same girl and guy were there. They petted me and called me “Yoshi.” What?! That was not my name. The guy whistled like my owner, and he said that “Yoshi” is my new name. I was so confused but I didn’t let it bother me. I got so much rubbing, petting, and best of all so many kisses. I was super excited, I jumped and gave them each a kiss. The girl got frightened when I jumped, not sure why she was. I thought humans love it when they get kisses, no? The man whose name was “Honey” (that was what the girl called him) told me to stop and made me sat down. After I sat down, the girl came toward me and looked straight at my eyes. I saw straight through her innocent and kind heart and fell deeply in love with her until she said I smelled “stinky.” Woman, do you know that they don’t bath me here? Does she know dogs can’t bath themselves? Sigh...

They tried to play with me for a while, but I was too distracted, too excited to be exact. I didn’t really pay attention to them. They kept calling me Yoshi and told me they will be my new mommy and daddy. Okay, sure whatever, I didn’t believe them nor care much as my owner was my daddy and will forever be my daddy. The outside world behind the glass windows looked way too fun as I can see freedom so closed by. A while later, the girl left and the blue shirt man came back and took me away.

He took me back into the same kennel and back to my same old boring life. Wolf asked me what happened, but I just ignored him. For a second, I thought I was free. I thought I will never be put back into this place. I thought I get to sniff the fresh air and put my paws on fresh grass.

A couple of minutes later, the gated door opened and Honey walked in. I got so excited I jumped out of my bed to greet him. Honey petted me and told me they will back soon for me. Huh? I am confused, but deep down, I can’t wait for that day to come. The day I am out of this prison?

--

--

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi

We are a husband and wife team who love to work on DIY projects.