Chapter 7 — I am Finally Free

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi
Published in
3 min readSep 4, 2019

June 1, 2019 — Part 1

Today was the day I finally escape from prison.

I woke up with painful abdominal pain. All I kind remembered since yesterday was the sweet vet petting me. She woke me up today by petting me and calling me “Yoshi.” Every inch of my body felt like they don’t exist anymore. Every movement produced pain. My eyes were hazy and I can’t feel my mind. There was a needle attached to my arm and on the other end, it was attached to a line that was connected to a bag full of unknown liquid. Only God knew what was in that bag. I tried to yank it out, but I literally had no energy to do anything. Is this what humans called “heaven?”

The vet fed me water and ONLY water. I woke up super hungry and just wanted to eat, but all they fed me was water. She petted me and then left after closing my cage door. I was surrounded by many humans who dressed in these blue and green gowns with cute animal images on them. Next to me was another dog who could barely speak. Before you know it whatever was in that bag knocked me out again.

In the middle of the best sleep I had in a while, I was woken up by a large scaring looking man. He attached a leash onto my collar and then slowly pulled me out of my cage. I didn’t know how to react nor have any energy to do so, so I just obeyed him and walked along his side. We went through many doors and hallways, but I can’t remember anything no matter how hard I tried.

Then out in a distance, I saw the girl and Honey patiently sitting on a bench. They stood right up as soon as they saw and ran toward me. Seeing them made me so excited that my full body decided it had so much energy, so much, I was able to pull the big man and ran toward them. Yep, I was shocked. Honey kept his words! I was so excited I licked, and licked, and licked, their faces until my saliva dried out.

The big man gave them my leash and out of the shelter we were. Honey and girl took off my ugly collar and gave me another very pretty bright yellow collar before taking me into their car. Boy was it a fun ride down the street. This car ride was short, but for some reason, I felt so much love and so much excitement.

Next, we went into this house, that was not mine, but the girl, her name is “Sweetie” (that was what Honey called her) told me that this will be my new home. Really? No, no, no. I hope my owner will never know I betrayed him. They tried to feed me, but they fed me pellets. Urgg…those stupid pellets. I had enough of them at the animal shelter. I do not want to see those pellets ever again in my life.

I tried to eat it, but I just can’t stand the smell of them even though my tummy was growling super loud. I was so tired, I just drank water and laid down on this nice comfy bed they had for me. Before you know it, I fell asleep AGAIN.

--

--

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi

We are a husband and wife team who love to work on DIY projects.