Chapter 9 — The return of the kennel

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2019

June 2, 2019

Last night, Sweetie set up my crate and helped me get in it. The crate smelled like it was brand new. The smell of the plastic and fresh paint made me sick to my stomach. The look of the metal wire and the door reminded me of my dog kennel at the shelter. I sure hope this will not be my new home. Fortunately, Sweetie told me that this will only be temporary. Oh thanks, God.

At first, I was hesitant to go into the crate, but the white fully bed Sweetie placed inside felt so soft to the touch I couldn't resist. Man, was that bed the softest bed I laid on. She petted me and wished me goodnight before room closing the door behind her. I howled at her and she laughed. I howled again and again, but she kept saying “awe how cute.” I got so annoyed, I decided to roll in my nice new bed until I realize the metal crate wire gaps were too big for my giant four paws. They went right through, so I ended up halfway free from the crate with my four paws outside the crate, LOL.

I tried to do a full rollover, but I couldn’t. The stupid plastic cone they put around my neck blocked my side views and kept on hitting the crate. I couldn’t lay my head down flat. I couldn’t clean myself. Worst of all, I couldn’t itch. The last time I bath was a decade ago. Every inch of me felt like it needs a good clean and a nice scratch. Is this what humans called “pillow, you know the one they put their head on when they go to bed?” If it is, yikes!

All of a sudden, I felt so scared and lonely sitting by myself in the quiet dark room. It was so quiet, I can hear the crickets outside. I cried and immediately Sweetie came rushing through the door. She told me everything was going to be okay and turned on this relaxing dog music (or at least that what she called it) by speaking in the air “Okay Google, play relaxing dog music.” Out of nowhere, someone said: “okay, here is a playlist called dog relaxing music.” Soothing and relaxing sounds started coming out next to the window and it freaked me out, so I cried louder. Throughout the night Sweetie rushed back into my room every time I cried. Out the door and back into the room, went God knows how many times, but finally, she gave up and brought her blanket and pillow into the room. And just like that, we slept together on the floor through the night. Me in the crate and Sweetie outside the crate.

--

--

Anne&Matt
It’s Yoshi

We are a husband and wife team who love to work on DIY projects.