One year later…

Brant
It’s Brant
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2016

On October 25th, 2015, I officially started working for N3RDFUSION as their Community & Social Media Manager — a position within the Gaming & Entertainment industry I had been aspiring to achieve for quite some time. Being able to support content creators in a front facing role, helping manage their Community was a far off dream at one point, but it was way closer than I had ever imagined.

Becoming a Community Manager has presented more challenges that I could ever have imagined. When I first started, I was under the impression that I’d be sending out a few tweets, talking to people on various chat platforms and gathering feedback, but I quickly learned that my responsibilities extend way past that.

Within a year, I’ve not only been able to see myself grow into a more experienced Community Manager, I’ve also been able to coach new Moderators, establish teams for up and coming projects, run a Minecraft Subscriber Network, build tools to ease the jobs of different people (including my own), and so much more!

I would have never expected to have learned so much from a job as I have this one. I’ve met so many amazing people, made amazing contacts, and made lifelong friends that stand by me, and support me through some hard times both professionally and personally.

Without the Twitch Community and the amazing people behind it, I would have never thought I would be able to pursue my dreams of helping build an environment for everyone to be comfortable in, and feel like they have a home.

I’d like to thank everyone who stood by me throughout this past year and believed in me and the work that I do. Without you, I have no idea where I’d be or how life would be different. I hope that I’ve also been able to impact some of you that are also looking to enter this industry and role — It’s an amazing job but one of the hardest and most challenging ones you’ll ever have.

I can’t wait to see what this next year has in store, and I’m glad you’re all here with me for the ride, it’s gonna be a good one!

--

--