Reflections.

Brant
It’s Brant
Published in
3 min readApr 5, 2017

Sitting roughly 3,000 miles away from home, alone, I tend to think a lot when it’s quiet. I started to think about what got me to where I am right now.

It’s crazy to think, almost 3 years ago I registered the account “HiItsBrant” on Twitch. I created that account with the idea of streaming part time, building a community, and eventually growing from there. Of course, things didn’t end up that way.

I started volunteering services to broadcasters, such as forum management and development and simply watching over community stuff, nothing major. Unknowingly, I started to see signs of appreciation from people I didn’t even know for the work that I was doing for free. I had every intention to join the Highway Patrol when I turned 19, but that obviously changed.

As the responsibilities started to grow, so did my passion. I started dedicating a lot of time to moderation and community growth. I’d work with broadcasters on building communities and structured moderation teams. I started dedicating over 30 hours a week to the broadcasters I was working with, and I realized that it was definitely something that I’m good at and wanted to continue doing it. The only problem with that was I wasn’t making any money, and wasn’t being fiscally responsible. At that point, I started looking for jobs within the industry where the people I was working with shared the same passion for this community as I have.

“We only hire talent here, and it’s clear to me that you’re talented.”

When I heard these words, I knew that I found a group of people that spoke the same language I did. This resonated with me, I never considered myself as “talented” in what I do. The more I look at this industry and the profession I’ve fallen into, the more I understand that there are some people that are definitely made to do the things we do as Community Managers. Being told I was talented at the one thing I was most passionate about really propelled me to continue doing more and to continue growing professionally and individually.

I’ve learned so much during my time within the Twitch Community. I’ve built life-long friendships, connections, and also found someone that truly makes me happy even at the worst times. Twitch is a family, and it makes me proud to know that I’ve been able to be a part of this ride with the many people I’ve met over the past few years.

As I sit back and look at where I was then, to where I’m sitting right now, I’m rendered speechless. There’s so many people that have been there for me in times of struggle, times where I don’t know what to do and need advice, and even times where we just want to have fun. These people are people that I will cherish for the rest of my life and they’re some of the most amazing people I have ever known.

I look forward to seeing where the next few years takes us, all of us. Thank you for being a part of my life, and our Family.

PS — I’m definitely not going anywhere, just wanted to reflect on the past few years and say thank you to the people that deserve it the most, they know who they are. Onward and upward!

--

--