The Impact Twitch & Charity has had on me.

Brant
It’s Brant
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2016
GameChangerCharity Logo

Back in early December, I was approached to help administrate a Donor Server for GameChanger Charity (www.gamechangercharity.org).

At the time, I wasn’t aware of what exactly GameChanger Charity was. I just knew that they were hosting a Minecraft UHC with some of the top broadcasters around Twitch, and that if people donated $5 to the charity, they had access to the Server that I was asked to help monitor. Little did I know how amazing this organization is.

I dedicated some time to ensuring the server was running properly by keeping it Family Friendly, and communicating with the players about the upcoming event. Personally, I felt like it wasn’t much, but it was something that I enjoyed doing.

After the UHC came PAX South 2015. I hadn’t really communicated with anyone at GameChanger since the event, solely because the event had concluded — I really didn’t have anything else to say since my role was done. I was working the N3RDFUSION booth with Turner when Jake Hurst from GameChanger came over and introduced himself, handing us both envelopes with a hand written card, a picture, and some other really cool stuff saying thank you for our support during Mining For Change 2015, and that they really appreciated the time and effort that we put in to make sure that the server was a safe, family friendly environment for the community. WOW.

I honestly didn’t think that the time we put in to this event was anything worth noting. It’s something that I would have done because I enjoy doing it, not for recognition or praise. It was so warming to see how the work that we did made such an impact.

About a week ago, GameChanger approached us, asking if we wanted to help with their donor server for Playing for Change 2016. I’ll be the first to admit that assisting with this event, regardless of how much we were able to contribute, definitely opened my eyes and has allowed me to appreciate how amazing the Twitch community is, along with Jake Hurst and the rest of the team at GameChanger.

Cohesively, we were able to raise over $19,000 for charity. This money goes to children who are suffering from life threatening illnesses and their families to ensure they get the proper care that they need. They provide happiness through video games for thousands of children who are going through what is the darkest part of their life.

I am eternally grateful for the opportunities we’ve been given to support such an amazing organization, and I hope that we can continue to provide this support for years to come.

Thank you ❤

--

--