Creative Layouts

Alexa Menard
itworksbyalexa
Published in
1 min readApr 24, 2018

This was the first assignment of the year as well as my first major assignment with Adobe Illustrator. We were instructed to take certain elements such as font, colours and structural hierarchy into consideration, but we could make anything we wanted.

I chose to create a mood-board for a favourite vacation spot of mine, Pinery Provincial Park.

I selected photos from Unsplash that reminded me of the atmosphere of the park and used colours from those photos to create a scheme. I took inspiration from a cork board that I have in my bedroom, where I tack mementos from trips and occasions to the board. I wanted the layout to remind someone of a scrapbook or craft project.

I captured the aesthetic of this place using features in Illustrator and think that this first project paved the way for great work in the rest of the semester.

--

--

Alexa Menard
itworksbyalexa

Alexa is currently a student of Digital Communications at Humber College.