Choosing The Right Major For You

How I chose psychology after changing my major three times

Leigha Stephney-Sullivan
IU Visitor Information Center
4 min readOct 26, 2020

--

Hello! If you are reading this, I have good news and bad news. The good news is, you have been accepted to the college or university of your choice. The bad news is, you are faced with the less than enjoyable task of choosing your major.

As someone who has changed her major three times, I am quite the expert.

Going into my undergraduate at IU, I was a biology major. I was pre-med, and all of my other pre-med friends were biology majors. It seemed like the only way to go.

I quickly realized that biology wasn’t for me. I found it really hard to focus in my biology classes simply because I wasn’t interested. Shortly after that, my chemistry professor approached me. He told me that in order to make myself stand out, and increase my chances of getting into med school, I should change my major to chemistry or biochemistry.

As a freshman, I had no other reference point. He seemed like a reputable source because his daughter was in med school, and she majored in biochemistry. So, I changed my major to biochemistry, and (at the time) felt a lot better about my chances of getting into med school.

As the semesters went on, I found my classes getting more and more difficult, and more and more boring. I wasn’t very interested in biochemistry either. I found myself falling into a deep depression, and not doing very well in my major classes. At this point, I began to panic. If I couldn’t handle simple biology and biochemistry courses, how could I handle med school?

I began to doubt everything. I later attended an event called IU Med Day. It was an opportunity for premed students to engage in conversation with med students and professors from IU School of Medicine. It was a chance for us to see what it was really like to be a med student. One of the med students asked my group what our majors were and why. I came up with some lame excuse. I told him that I enjoyed both biology and chemistry. I could feel the lie coming out of my mouth. He then gave us the best advice I have ever been given, and I will share it with you now. He said…

“Don’t pick a major because you think it will get you into med school. Pick a major because you enjoy it.”

At that point, everything became disturbingly clear. I have spent my entire undergraduate career choosing my major based on what I thought would get me into med school. My GPA suffered. My mental health suffered. And I wasted a lot of time and energy lying to myself about why I was really there. Then, as a junior in college, I changed my major for the last time to psychology!

My two cents about choosing a major

As you go into your freshman year of college, and you find yourself making decisions that will impact your future, I leave you with these last few pieces of advice.

1. Don’t choose your major based on future goals, but instead choose it based on current interests. 🤩

It is very possible that what you think you want to do is not truly what you want to do. I for one, am still on track to go to med school, but this was not before entertaining the idea of becoming a therapist. Focusing on what you are currently interested in is a great way to decide what you want to do with the rest of your life. And if all else fails, you will likely have a great GPA to continue on with your masters or a professional school. If you like a class, then you tend to get better grades in that class. Don’t force yourself to do anything you don’t like simply because it may or may not get you the end results you’d like.

2. Don’t follow anyones timeline but your own. ⏰

You do not have to graduate in four years, then go on to your masters and then your doctorate. It is okay to plan in a gap year or two. It is okay if college takes you an extra year or two. It is okay if changing your major adds on some extra time. Don’t listen to anyones timeline but your own.

3. Always evaluate your level of happiness. ⭐️

If you find yourself unhappy, evaluate what is making you unhappy. If, like me, it is your choice of major, talk to an advisor and make sure you are choosing the right major for you.

Good luck with your decision making, and remember, this is your decision, and yours alone!

--

--