IU Study Spots

Nicole Lekatsos
IU Visitor Information Center
2 min readOct 25, 2021

Throughout my four years of college, I have discovered some quaint study spots around campus. Each of these spots have unique qualities, especially depending on how long you need to study for.

The Indiana Memorial Union has many locations that I like to study. One of which is the south lounge. There are a variety of couches, comfy chairs, and natural light that make the dread of studying a little more enjoyable. In the winter, they light the fireplace and it is extra comforting. I study in this location mostly in between classes because the walk going home isn’t always worth it. Especially when I was a freshman you essentially have everything you need in the union: food, rest area, and a nice place to catch your breath. This part of the union is quiet enough that you can sit and work with no disruptions. It’s nice because I can’t hear myself breathe, I rarely like to study in extremely quiet places.

Another part of the union that I enjoy in the warm months is the outside patio. You get a nice breeze while you sit and enjoy a cup of iced coffee. To me, there is nothing better. It makes the time pass a little quicker. You still hear the hustle and bustle of the people but just enough that it becomes background noise. You can walk right the stairs to our Starbucks for a refill on your coffee to keep you awake for the next few hours. The union is one of my favorite places because it is in the central part of campus and it is a great break in the middle of your day.

Aside from the union, one of the places I spent a lot of time especially during finals week is Wells Library. Made up of 10 floors, depending on how high you go up it gets quieter and quieter. Each floor is designated for different purposes, for example, the first floor is designated for independent computer work and a few collaborative rooms. As you go up there are more collaborative spaces but past the 5th floor, it becomes extremely quiet. I think I only studied up there once if I needed absolute silence to just focus.

Overall, many study spots serve different purposes and as you become a Hoosier you will find your favorite spots to share with your friends!

--

--