Meet the IU Visitor Information Center Team for the 2022–2023 School Year!

mina shelby
IU Visitor Information Center
4 min readSep 26, 2022

Hear about why we chose Indiana University and some of our favorite memories!

We know how stressful, intimidating, and confusing thinking about colleges can be. It probably feels like there are a million things to think about — from choosing where to go to school, what major to pursue, or where to live. That’s where we can help! Our job at the visitor center is to provide answers to those types of questions and help you learn more about IU and the Bloomington community.

The visitor information center is unique in that it’s staffed almost entirely by undergraduate and graduate students of different majors and backgrounds. Between all of us, we’re confident we’ll have someone who can relate to you!

Who are we? Let’s meet the team!

Major

Master of Science in Medical Science

Why did you choose IU?

I’m from Bloomington, and many members of my family have attended this school. IU is a great place to go to explore many different options.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

In my intro the psych class, I got to hold a human brain. It was super cool, and really peaked my interest in psychology so much so that I changed my major!

What is your favorite food?

I’ll eat pretty much anything, but probably pasta!!

Major

Masters in Art Education

Why did you choose IU?

I fell in-love with the Bloomington campus on my first tour during high school! Weaving through winding pathways, woods and limestone buildings between classes is a privilege of being a student at IUB!

What is your favorite memory from IU?

I loved getting lost in the fine arts library stacks. I would put in my earphones and read through bits of old artist journals, manuscripts and instructional manuals.

What is your favorite food?

Dutch Almond Coffee Cake

Major

Master of Music in Voice Performance, Graduate Certificate in Vocology

Why did you choose IU?

IU is a D1 school, a top research institution, a cultural hotspot in the middle of Indiana, and home to top-ranking music, business, and environmental studies programs. I committed to IU because I didn’t have to choose between my work and social life, I got to choose both.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

During my bachelor’s degree at IU, I did some linguistic field research on a Tibeto-Burman language called Lutuv. Indianapolis has the largest population of Burmese individuals besides Burma itself, and so, maybe surprisingly, there is a lot of linguistic diversity here in Indiana! Lutuv is completely undocumented, and the only knowledge of its vocabulary and grammar is with the native speakers. We worked with a native speaker to document the language and publish our findings.

What is your favorite food?

I love brunch! Avocado toast, an omelet, or French toast…count me in!

Major

Arts Management

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU because it feels like home and it had exactly what I needed.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

I love going to the football games, I spend time with my family and friends and they have really good pretzels. Shout out to Ben’s Pretzels.

What is your favorite food?

I love Tortellini

Major

Entrepreneurship & Corporate Innovation

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU because I fell in love with the campus when I came to visit. Additionally, when I first visited IU, everyone that I met had nothing but positive anecdotes to share about their experiences at IU. Finally, I knew that the Kelley School of Business would offer me a wonderful education and give me the opportunity to meet like-minded students.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

My favorite memory from IU would have to be going to my first IU football game. It was really exciting to see everyone dressed up in IU gear, and the energy in the crowd was so infectious.

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food is chicken parmesan.

Major

Psychology with minors in Dance and Counseling

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU for its beautiful campus and its historic traditions and spirit.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

My favorite memory so far is singing the school songs at the end of practice with the band every week, the sun is usually setting over Memorial and the songs are so beautiful.

What is your favorite food?

My food obsession at the moment is bagels and cream cheese (even better when it’s from Sugar and Spice).

--

--