Meet the students who run IU’s Visitor Information Center!

Hear about why we chose Indiana University and our favorite memories

Aditi Saldanha
IU Visitor Information Center
5 min readSep 30, 2020

--

Indiana University Sample Gates

Hello and welcome to Indiana University’s Visitor Information Center!

We know how stressful, intimidating, and confusing thinking about colleges can be. It probably feels like there’s a bajillion things to think about — from choosing where to go to school, what major to pursue, where to live, etc.

That’s where we can help! Our job at the visitor center is to provide answers and help you learn more about IU and the Bloomington community. Unfortunately, because of health concerns, meeting in person has been more challenging recently. Considering these limitations, we decided to create a blog to share our experiences and stories about IU with all of you!

The visitor information center is unique in that it’s staffed almost entirely by undergraduate and graduate students of different majors and backgrounds. Between all of us, we’re confident we’ll have someone who can relate to you!

Who are we? Let’s meet the team!

Leigha Stephney-Sullivan

Major / Year in School

Master of Science in Medical Science / 1st Year

Hometown

Bloomington, IN

Why did you choose IU?

I’m from Bloomington, and many members of my family have attended this school. IU is a great place to go to explore many different options.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

In my intro the psych class, I got to hold a human brain. It was super cool, and really peaked my interest in psychology so much so that I changed my major!

What is your favorite food?

I’ll eat pretty much anything, but probably pasta!!

Nicole Lekatsos

Major / Year in School

Informatics / Senior

Hometown

Glen Ellyn, IL

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU because of the environment and people when you first get here. It’s close enough to home, yet I get sad when I leave campus.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

My favorite memory at IU are all the tailgates that happen during football season. It’s so fun walking around talking to people, eating good food, there’s nothing like it.

What is your favorite food?

Pasta

Mina Shelby

Major / Year in School

Master of Science in Art Education/ 1st year

Hometown

Rockville, IN

Why did you choose IU?

I fell in-love with the Bloomington campus on my first tour during high school! Weaving through winding pathways, woods and limestone buildings between classes is a privilege of being a student at IUB!

What is your favorite memory from IU?

I loved getting lost in the fine arts library stacks. I would put in my earphones and read through bits of old artist journals, manuscripts and instructional manuals.

What is your favorite food?

Dutch Almond Coffee Cake

Peyton LaVielle

Major / Year in School

Political Science and Anthropology / Senior

Hometown

Dayton, Ohio

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU because I felt at home when I first stepped foot on campus.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

My favorite memory was when I went to the 2020 TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, FL with my fellow RedSteppers. It was such a fun week and I grew a lot closer with my teammates and the band.

What is your favorite food?

Pizza

Reilly Smith

Major / Year in School

Arts Management / Freshman

Hometown

Bloomington, Indiana

Why did you choose IU?

I chose IU because it feels like home and it had exactly what I needed.

What is your favorite memory from IU?

I love going to the football games, I spend time with my family and friends and they have really good pretzels. Shout out to Ben’s Pretzels.

What is your favorite food?

I love Tortellini

Nina Riber

Major / Year in School

Marketing Major with an Apparel Merchandising Minor / Senior

Hometown

Cincinnati, Ohio

Why did you choose IU?

A lot of my family graduated from Indiana so I grew up visiting for games and to see family. IU has always felt like home to me!

What is your favorite memory from IU?

My favorite memory from IU would be the one year (freshman year) I had on campus with both my brother and cousin. It was so cool to have all 3 of us on campus!

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food would have to be a banana with peanut butter!!

Say hi and chat with us! 👋

Hopefully, you enjoyed that little intro about each of us. If you have any questions at all or just want to chat, please don’t hesitate to reach out. You can email us at iuvis@indiana.edu

Over the next few weeks, we’ll be sharing personal stories of our time at IU from being the first person to go to college in our family, to trouble picking a major, to getting involved with the Redsteppers at IU!

Stay tuned!

--

--