Switching Majors

How I switched from Psychology to Informatics

Nicole Lekatsos
IU Visitor Information Center
3 min readNov 9, 2020

--

Luddy School of Informatics

Ever since I was young, I loved learning about the human brain, how it functions, why it makes humans do certain things, and why each person is so unique.

Applying for college

Psychology always interested me the most and I knew I had such a passion for learning about people. When applying for college, I wasn’t necessarily positive about the route I wanted to take with psychology or really anything. Psychology was just the only thing I thought I was good at.

I applied to about 10 Midwest colleges through their psychology programs. Many of them didn’t have specific programs so I just applied to their liberal arts schools. By nature, liberal art schools are easier to get into, so I felt my chances of applying and being accepted were high. Indiana University was always high on my list because I was enthralled with the campus and the environment. Even more, at Indiana University, switching majors was a lot easier than other colleges. The process here makes students feel like they have the opportunity to do whatever they want.

Transitioning from Psychology to Informatics

In my first semester of college, I took psychology classes and a couple of general education classes. One course that stood out to me, in particular, was Informatics 101. It interested me because I was talking with my advisor about how I wasn’t sold on pursuing a psychology degree. She suggested that I take a test on my strengths and to see what I thrived in. I was interested in Informatics because I have always thought coding would be an interesting skill. I took the introduction class for fun and by the end of the semester, I loved it.

I loved the problem-solving aspect and the satisfaction when you return a solution. Finishing the psychology course and learning that the three pathways I could take after finishing my degree were research, therapy, or psychiatry was frustrating. None of these sold me. I realized that I wasn’t enthusiastic enough about the career to continue with four more years of school. After some deliberation, I knew that the path of Informatics and the careers that were available after graduation were far more broad and beneficial.

Possible careers in Informatics

The careers that encompassed informatics were widespread. Technology is a growing company; I knew that if I didn’t know what exact job I wanted my freshman year, I would know in my last couple years of college. I know what strengths I have in the technology industry that make me a great candidate. I hope I land a job in UX design or web design. After enrolling in many courses that focus on these topics, I do not doubt that I am passionate about this. I love the creative aspect and being able to create a website or app so unique and represent different aesthetics.

My takeaways about switching majors

Starting as such a different major made me appreciate and realize what I like to do and what I am good at. Throughout my college experience, I have noticed how much I enjoy design, coding, and collaborating with so many different people. Everyone brings such unique experiences that make this major and the future worthwhile. My process of switching majors was not difficult whatsoever. I started in the liberal arts school, now I am in the Luddy School of Informatics and Computing. My advisor was so helpful and encouraged me to follow my gut. I did exactly that and am so happy where it led me.

--

--