The value of self-discovery

mina shelby
IU Visitor Information Center
2 min readOct 11, 2021

Self reflection and patience.

Illustration by Mina Shelby

Self discovery is a big topic. Very early on in my life I discovered my passion for art-making and art appreciation. I filled my time with art projects and experiences and after graduating high school I enrolled in Indiana University Bloomington for Fine Arts and Art History. Although I knew that I loved art, I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it. This terrified me and made me feel like I was lost on my way to a fulfilling career.

Too often, I think that the idea of self discovery is overemphasized in our minds, and we get lost in an endless search to find perfection. Self discovery is not finding that perfect job to fulfill you. Self discovery is uncovering elements of yourself that lead to fulfillment. You don’t have to know it all. Expecting to understand everything or take in the whole map at once is impossible. But taking steps to get to know yourself can help you embrace and enjoy each stop on your journey.

“Find out who you are and do it on purpose.” -Dolly Parton

Self discovery starts with self reflection. And in college self reflection is so important in combating fatigue and stress. By reflecting inward you will begin to identify and acknowledge your strengths, interests and goals. Here are some questions you can use to reflect:

21. What do I love about my classes?
22. What do I hate about my classes?
23. What assignments am I putting off?
24. What is making me feel down about school?
25. What is my biggest accomplishment in school?
26. What is my biggest challenge at school right now?
27. What am I doing to overcome these challenges?
28. What motivates me to go to school?
29. Am I involved in school organizations?
30. Do I find myself feeling envious of my peers?
31. How do I de-stress at school?
32. What distracts me the most from homework?
33. How do I measure my success at school?

Sources:

Happier Human, “51 Self-Discovery Questions to Ask Yourself While Journaling,” Nov. 13, 2019: www.happierhuman.com/self-discovery-questions/.

--

--