Time Management at School

Nicole Lekatsos
IU Visitor Information Center
3 min readMar 22, 2021

During my time here at Indiana University, I have noticed a skill develop that is extremely useful to your productivity. Time management is crucial to becoming a successful student. Yes, I imagine you have heard this before. However, once we get into college we seem to forget how important it actually is. I fell under this category too during my freshman year. Everything is still an adjustment, you are learning the ropes figuring out your classes, how to take proper notes etc. The most crucial skill out of all of this is time management.

At the start of my freshman year I had a lot of trouble trying to balance all my work. I had to take notes, review them, go to class, work on homework and projects all on top of creating a new social life. It was difficult, especially at the start because it’s a whole new environment with minimal friends.

The best ways I found to manage my time were to take it day by day. If I did a little work each day for each of my classes it felt less overwhelming. I was never an extremely big procrastinator in high school, but I knew college would test that. I felt more accomplished of myself when I was able to finish a task than rushing to do my work in a few hours the day it’s due. It is also important to plan. Write out a list of everything you need to do each day. Little things and by the end of the week all your little things added up to all your finished assignments.

Another tip I can share is when you feel extremely overwhelmed and stressed because you have a lot due that week, talk to your professors. Go to office hours and have a talk with them about your stress level and odds are, they will give you that extension. I have done this numerous times and it’s worked. They know how hard it is to manage college the first year, even in the future years it still works. I highly recommend doing this because they can put a face to the name. Odds are if you’re bordering a letter grade they might bump you up.

Ultimately, this is a skill that is learned over time. It will take practice to build up and get good at it. As almost a senior in college, this has been one of the best skills I have developed. Even more, in the future this will benefit me in my career and accomplishing tasks.

--

--