Time management for online classes

Leigha Stephney-Sullivan
IU Visitor Information Center
4 min readFeb 21, 2022

Living in the middle of a pandemic, we are learning to do a lot of things virtually. Most of our classes are online, work meetings, interviews, etc. For someone who is not used to the online setting, this can be really challenging. A lot of times, it can be a swing and a miss. In online classes, time management is so important. In this post, I am going to discuss the importance of time management, and how to successfully manage your time in an online setting.

As college students, we know that time management is everything. If the pandemic has taught me anything, it’s that online classes are downright impossible without it. I know what you must be thinking: Leigha, everything in college is impossible without time management. While that might be true, I find it to be especially true for online classes.

In the online setting, you have two types of classes: synchronous and asynchronous. Synchronous classes are where you have a set time for lecture, and you show up to your zoom call at the same time every week while your professor lectures live. In an asynchronous setting, your professor records their lectures, and posts them to canvas. It is your responsibility to watch the lectures in a timely manner to learn the material. In my experience, asynchronous online classes are more common than synchronous online classes.

I am not going to sit here and tell you which type of class is more challenging. That is entirely up to you and your learning style. Personally, I like asynchronous classes better because I don’t have to be tied down to a specific schedule every week, and I can learn at my own pace. On the other hand, synchronous classes really hold me accountable for learning the material at a certain rate so that I don’t get overwhelmed, and I am able to ask any questions I have and get them answered in real time. There are pros and cons to both.

For synchronous online classes, I find it helpful to set alarms. For some reason, it is harder for me to remember to go to class when I am not actually going anywhere. You would think that it would be easy because I can log in from anywhere and don’t have to factor in a commute, but I find myself getting distracted with the day to day tasks of being a human such as sleeping, eating, cleaning, and running errands. I set myself an alarm 10 minutes prior to class so that I can have enough time to stop what I’m doing, set up my work space, and run to the bathroom. Another thing I do to help with synchronous classes is come to class prepared with questions. You have an hour for class, use that time wisely. A lot of professors will post their slides ahead of time, and it is nice to look at that before class to see where the gaps in your knowledge are. If your professor doesn’t post the slides ahead of time, ask them if they can. The worst they can say is no. I find that with online classes, professors are more accommodating to help you learn the best way that you can. We are all very new to this, and they want you to succeed.

For asynchronous online classes, my best advice is to email your professor and set up times to meet. If they don’t have a dedicated office hour time, set one up. The thing that you’re lacking with asynchronous classes is that immediate response from your professor about questions that you have. Set up that weekly meeting. I promise you, they will not be upset. Another thing is to give yourself a consistent schedule. If the material for the week opens up on Sunday, read your chapters for the week on Sunday, watch the lecture videos on Monday (or vice versa depending on how you absorb material), and pay attention to due dates. If you have a discussion due on Wednesday make sure you study well enough to post that discussion and know what you’re talking about by Wednesday. A lot of classes will have you make an initial post by Wednesday and a reply post by Saturday. I typically will do both on Wednesday so that I don’t forget to make my reply post. Pick a dedicated day to take your quizzes (assuming you have access to them all week) if you have a presentation due by Saturday make it a goal to do all of the research by Wednesday, so that you have Thursday Friday Saturday to put the material together and polish it. Setting deadlines for yourself in an asynchronous setting is crucial because a lot of times your professor will just open the module and have you do things on your own time.

For online classes in general, there are a lot of times where you feel like you’re teaching yourself, and you feel like you’re on an island. Don’t isolate yourself. You have a whole class of people who are feeling the same way. Make a study group. Set up weekly zoom study sessions with them, share Quizlet decks, and put together exam review documents. Compile a list of questions you all have and either meet your professor as a group or select someone to ask those questions in a meeting on your group’s behalf. Everyone has different strengths, so divide and conquer. Especially if your class has a lot of material. Online classes have a way of making people feel alone. Don’t feel like you have to carry the weight of the class on your own. Use your resources, set alarms, set solid deadlines that are realistic and easy to achieve, and talk to your professor. Time management is a skill that takes some time to master, but once you do, not only will you succeed in your classes, but it will set you up to achieve in the workforce.

--

--