Ivan’s 2020 Short Poetry Selection

Ivan Z. Feng
Ivan’s Poetry
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2023

(I) Broad-Minded Pride

With an open mind like a sturdy pine,
I stand high, overlooking the world’s shine.
Through turbulent waves, I remain calm and strong,
My heart, like a jade pool, reflects the azure throng.

(II) Unrestrained Rebel

Unyielding and fierce, breaking free from all binds,
Steadfastly standing alone, the unruly spirit finds.
Never following the mainstream’s tide,
I forge my own path, unswayed and dignified.

(III) Contented Melodist (Duet)

(i)
Playing with puppies, teasing cats at play,
Sorting out thoughts, hanging on tree’s sway.
Driven by joy, chasing winds across hills and streams,
Letting the playful heart soar to celestial extremes.

(ii)
Playing the guitar, blowing the flute’s tune,
Singing to the sunset, descending the dune.
Carried by the wind, the melodist sneaks into the night,
Accompanied by stars, finding contentment till daylight.

(IV) Indomitable Flame

The flame of righteousness never knows chill,
Embracing universal love, never standing still.
Democratic savior, bringing joy to all men,
With strong noble bones, piercing the blue sky’s den.

(V) Embracing Hearts

Like the vast sea embraces countless rivers,
Friendly and kind, embracing diverse talents and givers.
Democratic hearts, joyous and bright,
Noble souls soaring with unyielding might.

(VI) Uncontainable Childlike Heart (Duet)

(i)
Filled with joy, playing hide-and-seek on hillsides,
Innocent laughter echoing through the skies.
Passing by the pavilion, whispering softly,
Not disturbing the dream of the clumsy little cat.

(ii)
Singing like a child, facing both heat and cold,
Reforming youthful folly before growing old.
Amidst worldly concerns, vast and wide,
A simple heart remains pure until old beside.

(VII) Dream Chaser (Trilogy)

(i)
Proudly standing at the forefront, defying the waves,
Scattering youthful joy, singing as the heart craves.
Traveling across seas, indulging in leisure and pleasure,
Refining true self, never allowing time to measure.

(ii)
A dreamer faces spring again, enthralled,
The journey clearing, dreams gradually unfold.
Countless wishes by your side, delighted to share,
Yearning deepens, with head held high in the air.

(iii)
Radiant pearls gleam, reflecting dedication and zeal,
Great names standing tall, supporting the stubborn gold seal.
Bright sun illuminates the field, intoxicated by the mirage,
Challenging proud cranes, a dream pursued regardless of age.

Self-Mockery (I) — Contradictory Soul (Duet)

Sometimes confident, boasting with pride,
But soon ephemeral, like drifting tide.
Sharp and arrogant, overlooking everything,
Yet lowly at heart, as deep as the sea’s spring.

Self-Mockery (II) — Stubborn Determination

Headstrong, charging forward without care,
Unique thoughts making everything seem fair.
Others may laugh at the dreams I devise,
But I stand firm, like a never-falling prize.

Self-Mockery (III) — Poet of Two Worlds (Duet)

(i)
Clumsy poems and awkward verses fill my desk,
Both old and new, I adore them, grotesque.
In my prime, I proudly try to spread my wings,
Claiming to be a poet of dual poetic springs.

(ii)
Carelessly regarded by toothless readers, they mock and jeer,
Every day I wield my pen, writing the passing years.
Firmly holding to my dreams, like a hermit with a staff,
My lofty ambitions set in distant lands, beyond the autograph.

Ivan Zhanhu Feng*
January to July 2020

*Note: Some poems are modified by AI in 2023.

--

--