Motion Library Assignment Two

Monica Looze
IxD Prototyping Process
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

This animation was more challenging than the last animation, and there are definitely issues that still need to be resolved, but overall, I continued to learn how to parent animations using a motion library.

  1. I first created a vector image in Adobe Illustrator, and split it into layers so each portion of the graphic could be animated.

2. In After Effects I created a main composition, then treated each motion library animation as it’s own composition nested within my main comp.

Each animation is nested within “Main Comp”

3. Next, I decided which layers I wanted to animate separately and assigned each one to an animation. I nested the layers I wanted to animate in a particular way into each distinct composition.

This is one example, but I did it for each of the layers.

4. I positioned the assets so they were at their final resting place at the end of the timeline.

5. Then, I parented the objects with the motion library animation null objects to follow each animation.

Each object I want to follow the same trajectory is parented to the same null object.

6. I had some trouble with the objects following in an odd pattern, rather than what would have been an exact replica of the animation. To solve this, I moved the objects around on the screen, and eventually it worked itself out. At present, I don’t know what I did to fix the problem or what was wrong in the first place.

7. Finally I adjusted the timing of all the compositions in the main composition to get the feel of the animation right.

--

--