Aren’t we all just tourists.

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
1 min readApr 14, 2017
The kind of gems one stumbles across in Oxford bookshops.

A bank holiday that originally held no plans for us ended up triggering an impromptu trip to Oxford. A city of delights. Of course, it has its less than savoury spots, but that is an inevitability of human habitation. We only live half an hour away from this historic city, filled with its sumptuous architecture and gawping tourists.

I always feel a warm sensation when I am in a place that attracts lots of tourists but it is relatively local to me. Frankly, I feel like it’s “my” place and they’re all just visiting. A similar feeling arises if I visit Windsor. “Yes, I grew up around here,” I feel like saying. “Well, of course I know the queen,” I would go on.

Peculiar little creatures, our brains.

I am just as much a tourist as anybody else, though. Aren’t we all just tourists gawping at this existence trying to fathom out its depths, never quite feeling at home?

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment