At what point in life do we realize our priorities?

Written in response to a question on Quora

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
1 min readMay 23, 2018

--

There are valid reasons to have different priorities at different times in our lives. I know have kids, so they are a priority. Before I had kids, they obviously were not a priority.

When I was a kid, though, I didn’t have any appreciation of priorities. I’m not sure when the concept reared its head for me. Sometime in my teens I expect.

I believe that one’s overwhelming priority in life should be to cultivate the art of living and to understand what is important in life and how our fragile existence is so valuable.

This manifests itself in different ways for us all.

It is important to note that our priorities do not necessarily align themselves to the anount of time we spend on something. For example, we may spend most of our week working and only several hours with our children. But what’s the priority?

And even if one doesn’t have children or even a partner, the principle is the same.

Our priority in life should be fixed to things that cannot be taken away from us. Physical objects, our job, money, even our family can all be taken away.

Freedom of thought, belief, and love cannot.

Sign up to my mailing list. I send good things to your inbox…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment