Dipping into the rat race

And trying not to get dystopia all over my trousers

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
2 min readJun 11, 2018

--

I don’t commute for work. I never have. I count myself very fortunate in that regard. Choice has a lot to do with it. But I appreciate many people are in situations where they no longer feel they have a choice.

I have to go up to Leeds for a one-off client meeting today. I had arranged to travel by train. Into London Marylebone then across to Kings Cross and up to Leeds.

A long old slog.

(I’m writing this on my phone as I hurtle towards the heart of the city, recklessly draining my battery like I don’t give a damn.)

Waiting to catch my train with my coffee in hand, a couple of trains passed through. One stopped. One didn’t.

Both were stuffed full of humans.

Because I’m not accustomed to it and because I have an aversion to the rat race, it all seemed a little… dystopian.

We’re still allowed to use that word, right?

Of course, dystopian doesn’t really mean anything these days.

Fortunately, my train was almost empty when it arrived. It was stopping at quite a few stations so it eventually filled up but at least I had a seat.

Anyway, I may be moving house with the family this year. Further away from London. I would then be in a position where I would need to commute a couple of times a week. The journey would only be about an hour, so bearable.

I also work in higher education so there would likely be periods when I would be able to work entirely remotely when I’m not teaching.

I’m still confronted with the possibility of being dragged nearer to the dirty edges of the rat race.

But I assure you, friends, I shall not go without a fight.

Enjoyed the read? Subscribe to my updates. I send oh-so-literary goodies to your inbox…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment