Do I regret going into computer science?

An answer to a question on Quora

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
2 min readJun 10, 2018

--

I am stimulated by the concepts in computing and programming. That said, I do not view myself as a computer scientist, even though I attained a 1:1 Computer Science degree almost a decade ago.

While studying at university, I taught myself to program for the web using PHP & MySQL. I built (pretty awful) websites in my bedroom. Made some half-decent passive income from them.

What do I do now? I teach various computing and web subjects at university. I am involved in a web technology startup for the movie industry. I help out friends with their websites for no charge and give advice to help people avoid the pitfalls of the web.

Could I hold down a full-time job in the computing field? Nope. Could I hold down a full-time job in any field? Probably not. This was the case ten years ago and it’s still the case now.

I always enjoyed programming because it affords the opportunity to build things, to create. Code can be art.

But I also write fiction.

Turns out I’m more of an artist than I realised. Or, rather, I have felt a growing need for artistic expression, hence the fiction writing.

I also enjoy helping people, hence the teaching.

So when I think about “going into” computer science, I don’t view it as a final destination. I feel as though I have reached where I am now by travelling through computer science. And the journey will continue to places unknown, I am sure.

So, in short, no I do not regret going into computer science. It has enabled me to do many things that I enjoy today. It has not restricted me in any way, but rather has given me the freedom to explore and enjoy many different areas of my personal and professional life.

Enjoyed the read? Subscribe to my updates. I send good things to your inbox…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment