Learning to not hate myself for writing about writing

or writing about writing about writing

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
2 min readMay 15, 2018

--

These are not my knees

This 30-day blogging experiment has given me another outlet for my writing. I won’t be focusing on fiction, although little pieces will likely pop up here and there. I won’t be writing a deeply personal and psychological journal, either. I prefer to keep that kind of stuff away from you lovely people. You deserve better!

So what else can I write about? Well, just about anything. But inevitably, I’m going to end up spouting on about the process of writing and writing about writing… and writing about writing about writing! And I’m ok with that.

What’s my process for this self-administered 30-day daily writing challenge? Here are some sharpened bullet points.

  • I’ll be drafting directly in the Medium mobile app, mainly for convenience.
  • I may occasionally check my writing with the Grammarly iOS app but I definitely won’t bother to fine tune my writing with Hemingway or anything else. This is blogging, baby!
  • I won’t be making any of these posts member-only, despite any temptation to earn a few pennies from the process. Bigger picture.
  • Whenever I’m writing a post, I’ll look for jump off points that I can come back to in future posts. For example, if I’m talking about writing prompts one day, I can lay the foundation for a future post that actually uses a writing prompt and shows how it can be used.
  • I’ll remain vigilant for inspiration from other writers on Medium that may spark writing of my own.
  • I’ll be simply forcing myself to write, dammit!

While you’re here, I’d love for you to sign up to my brand spanking new mailing list. Far from being a one-way broadcast channel, I’d like it to form the basis of a supportive community.

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment