Letting go of the word count

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
2 min readMay 21, 2018

I often think about my daily word count. How many words have I written today? This week? This month? I used to try to write everything in a single place so, in theory, I could track my output.

I used Google Docs for a while, then moved to Apple Notes, then shifted to plain txt files stored on Dropbox.

You can see my plan worked out like a treat! Words scattered everywhere. Writing all over the place.

But I’m trying not to worry about it and embrace the fluidity and evolution of the technology I have chosen to use over time.

Of late, I’ve been taking things to a new level. I’ve been drafting and publishing blog posts (like this one) directly on Medium. No “original” copies stored offline anywhere.

I’ve even started spewing answers all over Quora. (I’ll be writing more about that in a separate post.)

So what’s my daily word count nowadays? No idea. But at least I’m writing daily. Stirring up thoughts. Getting them out of my brain and into written form.

Writing is art, after all. It doesn’t need to be constrained by quantitative analysis now does it! It’s all about the quality.

I think I may almost be ready to let go of my word count.

If you sign up to my mailing list, I send good things to your inbox…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment