Reset and Repeat

Micro Fiction

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
1 min readApr 27, 2018

--

‘Morning, I’m here for my interview.’

‘Ok. Are you sure you’re in the right place?’

‘Yes. My name’s Jonathan. Jonathan Jackson.’

‘Sorry, we don’t have you down.’

‘But you didn’t check your computer.’

‘Do you need anything? Can we get you a glass of water perhaps?’

‘No, thank you. I will miss my interview now.’

Jonathan wandered out of the lobby in a daze wondering how he had mixed up the days. Or had he walked into the wrong office? There was no point in worrying. The receptionist conveyed absolute confidence so it must have been Jonathan’s mistake.

When the sunlight hit him on the street, he remembered that he had been jobless for seven years and lived on the street. He looked down at his dirty rags and realised he hadn’t had an interview since he lost his last job.

He then looked up and his brain reset.

Isn’t it a beautiful day, he thought. I can’t wait for my interview tomorrow.

Something else for your consideration…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment