This iPhone will self destruct in…

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
2 min readDec 2, 2017

I happily refrain from writing about technology or iPhones in my poetry or fiction but this is my journal, so I’m going to have at it.

I upgraded my iPhone to iOS 11 a month or so back. It subsequently wrecked the performance of my phone.

Some apps would take ten seconds to open, I would have to wait ten seconds for my camera to initialise (by which time whatever I was trying to photograph had invariably moved on), the keyboard would often struggle to keep up with my typing (occasionally leading to the first word in a sentence being in all capitals because the keyboard didn’t switch to lower case in time after the first character).

I’ve been in communication with Apple, sending them diagnostic data and running tests. Last time I spoke to them, the technical team still hadn’t ascertained the cause of the problem. Google confirms that plenty of other people are experiencing similar issues across different devices – but not the latest iPhone X, of course.

Last night I resorted to erasing my iPhone and restoring it from a backup. It seems to have helped quite a bit but we’ll see how long it lasts.

In the meantime, I think I’m going to demand a new iPhone from Apple. I think they can afford it.

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment