Waiting for the waves to come crashing in upon me

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

--

It is a Saturday. The wife is ill, and so are the children. I am, unusually, the fittest one in the family right now (physically speaking).

This is not a position I am used to holding. I am a feeble man, a weakling you might say. It’s my thing. My “brand”.

I have just finished bathing the children and I put our eldest to bed. I sit alone in silence now, pondering whether the solitude is an oasis in the middle of a desert or a tropical island in the middle of the sea. Perhaps it is neither. Or both.

I am waiting for the waves (and sand dunes) to come crashing in upon me. Maybe it will be in a few minutes. Maybe a few hours. Maybe not until tomorrow. I will wait while I try not to think.

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment