When you see a pile of discarded clothes on the pavement

It’s possibly art, but probably not.

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…
1 min readJun 12, 2018

--

I forget the artist who placed a pile of clothes in a corner of a room. The clothes represented the shackles of modern life. To discard them was to leave everything they represented behind… and to be naked, of course.

I am sure there has been more than one artist who has done something similar. I could google it but I’ll refrain. Perhaps you, dear reader, may be able to enlighten me.

When I saw a bag full of clothes strewn across the pavement on my way into town recently, I smiled to myself. It reminded me of the aforementioned artwork I encountered several years ago.

But was this an artwork strewn across my path? Well, part of what made me smile was that it probably had something to do with a jilted ex getting even with their former partner.

I’ve heard that’s a done thing. Chucking clothes in the street out of spite. Seems fairly effective, if not particularly considerate to the environment of others.

Alternatively, it was simply a bag of clothes for recycling that had been torn open by a fox at night.

But I prefer the other option.

I wonder if the recipient of this raw justice now feels lighter in themselves.

Enjoyed the read? Subscribe to my updates. I send oh-so-literary goodies to your inbox…

--

--

Jon Jackson
J M Jackson Writes…

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment