How Is Family Not At All Important

J.R. Locke
J.R.’s Journal
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2023

The Hard Lesson About Forgiveness

Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

I was shocked when I heard how her husband cheated on her with her sister. The fact her sister betrayed her is one thing, but her mother telling her to let it go is another.

Her mother said her feelings and broken trust don’t matter, which means she doesn’t matter. She has talked to neither one of them since.

My mom would say, “Life is short” and “Family is important.” While I agree that life is short, family is unimportant. After all the crap I’ve been through with not only my parents and sister, I could honestly care less. One of my aunts stole jewelry from my parents’ room while my mom was throwing a Thanksgiving party at her house.

When I was going through a bad breakup, I posted things on my old Facebook account. It wasn’t a good idea, but I didn’t know any other way.

My uncle warned me about future employers looking at my stuff, which didn’t matter because no one does look at them. But when he told my mom about this, that crossed the line. I almost cursed him out for that.

That was why I stopped going to family events like Thanksgiving parties. I already had trash in my life. I had enough when they don’t want to apologize for their crap.

If you have a family like that, cut them out of your life. You can forgive them, but it doesn’t mean you should keep them in your life.

Why?

Forgiveness is letting go of the anger, but if you keep them in your life as they continue to hurt you, you won’t find peace. In other words, they might do the same things again.

You see, you’re supposed to forgive and learn. Learn from their mistakes and your own. If not, you’ll repeat it.

Trust me, after my dad did something stupid, my mom forced me to forgive him. I had to learn the hard way that just because you forgive the person doesn’t mean they’ll change. The fact that her mother told her to let it go is a real slap in the face.

I’m really glad she cut both of them out of her life.

If you like this article, follow for more, send a clap, and comment.

--

--

J.R. Locke
J.R.’s Journal

I'm a blogger for hire and writerprenuer who writes about blogging, marketing, sales, self-development, finances, and the law of attraction