The One Flaw I Can’t Afford To Have

This Flaw Has Cost Me $50 Worth of False Promises.

J.R. Locke
J.R.’s Journal
2 min readNov 25, 2023

--

Photo by Richard on Unsplash

Several years ago, somebody contacted me on Instagram about a content writing job. I was fired from a dollar store and needed to start my writing career. After looking at the papers they sent me, I learned it was an editing job. I’m not an editor.

After finishing the work a few days later, I learned it was only a scam. The guy asked me for money to get me paid. Sadly, I believed him.

My mom pointed out that I was too trusting. I was friends with a racist drunk, allowed drug addicts to take advantage of my kindness, and dated a narcissist. It’s a hard truth that I didn’t want to hear.

There’s no reason for any employer to ask their employees for money. They’re supposed to pay you for a job. Not the other way around.

I didn’t know any better back then. I was desperate for a career. I failed one of my college courses, and the stress was killing me. I never liked school in the first place. I wanted money to move out of my parents.

Who knew desperation attracts scammers?

Why Do They Do This?

They needed money, too.

I heard there are a lot of Scammers in Nigeria. Africa has plenty of poverty in most of the countries. Poverty is a great motivation to be a scammer.

I even became friends with a scammer because I rarely had any friends.

Sad, I know.

It won’t be a problem anymore. After learning my flaw, I made some changes.

--

--

J.R. Locke
J.R.’s Journal

I'm a blogger for hire and writerprenuer who writes about blogging, marketing, sales, self-development, finances, and the law of attraction