Art | Introducing, Hilda the Qing

Words and artwork by Phumzile Konile

Ja. magazine
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2019

--

Hilda the Qing,

How I present myself to the world:

In my name I honour Serongoane Hilda Namane,
my matriarch and spirit companion who has guided me along this journey.

I am part and all of a lineage
I carry blessings and talents that have been passed on to me from those who have come before.
Through the divine spirit, I am lead to higher consciousness
A deeper understanding of the self.

I am a multitude of moods, beings, and expressions.

This collage series began as a photoshoot with a film photographer by the name of Tandekile Mkhize. The concept behind the photoshoot and throughout this work was to capture the different moods and perhaps genders that I feel and embody. It is about embracing the fluidity of how I express what is within.

There were two looks that were shot, one being more masculine and the other being more feminine. I wanted to portray myself as a powerful king and an ever so fierce queen of the land in which I live. In doing this I express a desire not to rule but rather to feel a part of the environment I find myself in. I strive to deeply connect with the greater powers and God within me. I feel that I can only do so once I embrace the multitude of energies I bring to the space I occupy and the cosmos beyond.

The final works can be described as compositions of different media of art; analogue photography, cut-out-style collages combined through digital edits. Not only did I want to achieve bold visuals but contribute something authentic and raw to the arts and culture today.

The collages that make up the background in these works, were made back in high school. I enjoy the idea of reworking my ‘old’ work to tell a new or rather developed story.

BIO: I am Phumzile Konile, a multidisciplinary artist based in Cape Town. The forms of expression I embrace include film photography, collaging, architecture and performance. Most of my works speak to identity politics as I use my art to explore, understand and express the knowledge and feelings that come from within. My art is a contribution to the environment I find myself in and the cosmos beyond.

--

--

Ja. magazine

A place for the work of our contributors to sit, outside of the magazine. https://issuu.com/jamagsa