,

Poetry | I never miss the show

Words and images by @celle_writes

Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2020

--

I never miss the show
the universe puts on for us
the dawn show
with its soft
cotton-candy pink
peppered or thinly spread
across the sky
and the evening show
that’s beautiful
in its impending darkness

and I think that this cycle
reminds me of love
or at least
how I have loved.

The warmth, the promise,
the innocence
of the beginnings
the days
filled with sunshine
and grey
and maybe some light rain

but the ends,
oh, the ends…
the fire, the passion,
the fight to accept
that it’s time to let go of the light
and trust that there will be
a new beginning,
if only I weather the night.

Céline is an African creative who, under the name Céline Tshika, aims to write drink-spitting comedy, and under the name @celle_writes aims to write heartbreaking poetry, and absolutely nothing in-between.

--

--

A place for the work of our contributors to sit, outside of the magazine. https://issuu.com/jamagsa