Did I lose my creativity? Or did I just forget how to use it.

Annie Peterson
Jacht
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2017

When I was younger, I used to escape out to places that I could turn into a different world. I would sit in silence fixating on dreams I would someday pursue. I’d find myself laying on a swing set staring up at the sky looking at those big white puffs, thinking to myself what shapes they could be. Then in an instant, I would wake up and wonder how long I had been laying there in my perfect solitude. My creativity as a child was endless. In that backyard I created many different worlds, and I somehow ended up here today.

Where am I today you ask? I am a college student that can’t make up her mind. Somedays I see myself as the girl who laid on that swing set and dreamt of being the best version I could be, and other days I’m lost. Lost in the sense of not knowing what the next step is to find that better version. As a child, I wasn’t pressured to be creative nor did I have the need to be. Instead, I created because it was exciting. Today, everything is based off of being unique and thinking of original ideas. I didn’t play house any different than other kids and I’m almost certain that I tried to color inside the lines at all times. It has become almost impossible for me to be creative on the spot like I was as a kid.

But as I think of how I used to be creative, I wasn’t sitting at a desk looking at a blank piece of paper or staring at my computer screen. I was running around in that backyard, or climbing broken stairways in our barn that I knew I shouldn’t have. Being creative will never happen when you’re trying to be. That’s when Jacht came into the picture.

After I applied for the photographer position, I put the pressure on myself to push my limits on the creative side. But my best work has always been when I’m talking to the person instead of setting up the shot. Being creative isn’t something you should have set up and think too much about. It’s when you’re in the middle of a conversation, and you catch a true smirk from a story they’re telling you. It’s that shot you get when you catch them laughing as they forget there’s a camera in between you both. Being creative is being you, and by doing that, you’ll bring out the best in people for that perfect shot and bring out the best in your work.

--

--