Step Out of Your Comfort Zone

Bailey Schulz
2 min readSep 6, 2017

--

I should probably introduce myself: my name is Bailey Schulz, and I’m a copywriter at Jacht for the fall 2017 semester.

Typing those words felt pretty strange to me. I’ve only been with Jacht for two weeks at this point, and although I have experience in reporting and public relations, this is my first time claiming the title of copywriter.

This position is something entirely new to me. And while it’s certainly a bit intimidating, I’m excited for the opportunity to take on new tasks, meet new people and learn new skills — something that can be beneficial to myself, employers and clients alike.

I believe that ability to step out of your comfort zone is one of the most important skills any employee can have because you can:

  1. Keep up with change: Technology is changing. Fast. Which means employees have to keep up and get used to throwing away the tools they’re accustomed to. If you’re working in public relations and a new social media platform emerges, make an account. If you’re a designer and spot a new tool or trend, jump on it. Keeping up with technology and trends makes a difference when dealing with clients and employers alike.
  2. Take on new roles: Although it can be intimidating, getting out of your comfort zone can present so many opportunities. For example, instead of just looking for job and internship postings in your hometown, which limits your possibilities for learning and networking, explore opportunities in other cities. Or take a chance and sign up for that club in your college you’ve been eyeing. Not only is it a way to meet new people with similar interests, but it could give you a chance to learn resume-worthy skills or present you with a leadership opportunity.
  3. Show off your skills: Any workplace is competitive, with co-workers struggling to stand out amongst their peers. By stepping out of your comfort zone, whether in taking on new tasks or coming up with innovative ways to complete your work, it’ll be easier to make the right connections, do your job successfully, and move up within your company.

Lastly, having the confidence to step out of your comfort zone will allow you to grow as a person outside of your career. If I hadn’t taken chances in my professional career, I never would have learned the skills I have or met as many inspiring people.

So go out there. Take a chance in your career, avoid doing the expected. It may just be worth it.

--

--