The Video Mindset

Dani Wilkerson
Jacht
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2017

As a videographer, it’s easy for me to get consumed by a project. I find myself giving every bit of creative thought toward one video, until I can loosen the reigns and send it out into the world. I pay attention to details that are hard for others to see. I’ll spend hours contemplating audio, transitions, graphics and everything down to the smallest detail. The problem is, I can spot it and it will drive me nuts until it’s fixed.

This kind of approach can be good, but also can hinder a videographer. I once was told, “If you think a video is perfect, you didn’t watch close enough, but you must also know when to let go.”

This is the biggest take away I’ve gotten since working at Jacht. Currently I’m on five accounts, all vastly different than the next and all desiring engaging video content. I find myself asking, “When do I know how to step back?”, “When is it ok to show the rest of the team?”, and the kicker, “When is it time to ask for help?”

Knowing when to ask for help is huge when working in an agency environment. Having an extra set of eyes can help pull any videographer out of an over-focused editing session. This also helps ensure all content is staying on brand and is what the client needs. Communication is key to working with various departments and to making engaging videos.

Communication with others on my team helps me know when to let go. This is essential to making deadlines and keeping clients happy. When working at an agency, it’s not about you or making your videos shine, it’s about the clients. Keeping this at the front of my mind helps keep me on track.

Whether you are creating one video or multiple videos, remember to loosen the blinders, ask for help and keep the clients interests in the forefront of your mind. With these principles guiding you, amazing content is sure to follow.

--

--