Magic Keyboard for the iPad Pro 11” | A review after 5 months of use

This accessory changed the way I use my iPad

Jack Kaczmarek
Jack Kaczmarek’s Blog
4 min readAug 30, 2020

--

Photo by Daniel Romero on Unsplash

I got myself the iPad Pro 11” in March and I have to say that the main deciding factor for me was the announcement of the Magic Keyboard. Since the release of iPadOS, the idea of having a portable, fun, touchscreen workhorse was growing on me. Before that, I haven’t been an iPad fan. I left the club with the iPad Air 1(2013) which had too many limitations and had an impression of a “big iPhone with a few extras”. Today, the dream of being #iPadOnly — using the iPad for your work and being more productive(in some aspects) than macOS is nearing reality. I have to say, that vision has got closer than ever. I’ve had this setup for about 5 months now and have to say this accessory is perfect for my needs. Let me explain.

Ease of use

The ease of putting the iPad in and out of the case is something I make great use of. Yes, it is meant to be used in two main ways: tablet and laptop mode. I chose the 11” upon the 12.9” model because I love its portability. Generally, I use it 50% of the time in the case, 50% with bare hands. Without the case, my main uses are Safari, YouTube, social media, photos, books + making notes with Apple Pencil. All of these things would be difficult to do on the larger 12.9” model, because of the lack of portability. If you just want to use it with the keyboard – go for the 12.9” iPad, that’s my advice.

Second USB-C port

The case features an additional USB-C port. Having 2 USB-C ports on the iPad is very convenient. But it’s worth to mention that the port in the case can only transfer power, not data.

Quality and reliability

The case is made of good materials, doesn’t make the iPad feel bigger. There is a lot of people who dislike the soft touch surface of the case. I must say that I’m not one of them — it’s durable, doesn’t add any more weight and you can easily clean all the smudges with a cotton cloth. The picture of the back of the case is the worst it can really get. Apart from that, the case with the iPad attached to it gives an impression of a super light weight(not true) and compact(true) device. I’m a fan of that futuristic floating design. I have to note that sometimes the case didn’t react to the keyboard/touchpad input. Cleaning the smart connector with a cloth always fixed it though.

Courtesy of the author

Keyboard

The keyboard in the Magic Keyboard case is excellent, the scissor mechanism provides great key travel. It’s pretty similar to the latest MacBooks but has more of a punchline feel which feels great. The case can be easily used of the lap and the keys are backlit. The brightness adjusts simultaneously with the screen brightness. One disadvantage of such a compact design is the lack of a function key row but it hasn’t been an issue for me – reporting after 5 months of extensive use.

Trackpad

Small compared to the Mac standards but has the same great responsiveness. All the gestures work well in iPadOS. The clicking feel isn’t one of the greatest – that’s why I enabled the tap to click option. Works as expected.

Price

$299 (or $349 for the 12.9-inch model) is a lot of money. Before spending such a sum on you have to ask yourself a question whether you even need a keyboard, if yes — check the alternatives that are about twice cheaper. How much does such an iPad extension matter to you. For me, it was worth it — that was the accessory that changed the way I get things done on my iPad. Every alternative out there has one of these dropbacks: lacks touchpad, less compact, worse typing experience, less intuitive, harder to put on, no port, doesn’t use the smart connector. I’m hoping this accessory will be compatible with future iPads, that would make the price more understandable.

Photo by CardMapr on Unsplash

In the end, it was worth it. The case made me a lot more productive, I’m doing things I never would have thought were even possible. It made me appreciate this device much more of what it can be. The experience is so refined that I often even forget that I’m working off a tablet using it. After more than 5 months of usage, I find it really hard to recommend the Smart Folio Keyboard instead of this one. This Magic Keyboard is a huge upgrade and I love it!

If you have any questions, reach me out on Twitter

--

--

Jack Kaczmarek
Jack Kaczmarek’s Blog

Blogger, photographer, aspiring podcaster. I love technology and specialty coffee. Writing about anything that interests me.