Tate Modern - my favourite museum in London.

Jack Kaczmarek
Jack Kaczmarek’s Blog
2 min readFeb 7, 2021
Courtesy of the author

Even though I’m not an art geek, I have visited museums and exhibitions of various kinds in London. My absolute favourite is Tate Modern, which houses 70000 artworks that compromise the national collection of British art. As its name suggests, it offers contemporary-style works which I highly admired. People have often found it hard to conform to new trends in art, but I feel that attitudes to modern art are changing for the better. You can see this when you enter Tate Modern and observe the enthusiasm of its visitors.

I was absolutely mesmerised by the art in the museum. It has a great permanent collection which starts in the year 1900 and rangers from modernist masters like Matisse to the newest, cutting-edge works. There are also seasonal exhibitions, which are not only informative but also creative and fun. I was overwhelmed by the stateliness of the building itself. It’s a brilliant demonstration of the use of modern architecture, as the building was transformed from an ancient power station. The inner space is not only art, as it has a restaurant with excellent food. The museum also features a viewing platform at the top floor, as I found it to be one of the best observatory decks in the city.

Courtesy of the author

Another reason I recommend you to go to the museum is the staff, as I think this aspect is often under-appreciated. They are friendly and knowledgeable, and always happy to help visitors out. It is also important to note that despite its popularity; the place is kept in an exceptionally clean and well-organised manner.

Photo courtesy: Clifford on Unsplash

To sum up, I would highly recommend Tate Modern. The works of art are a must-see, and the dining experience is top-notch. It definitely raises the bar for what you get out of a museum visit.

Hope you found this useful. If you have any questions, reach me out on Twitter.

--

--

Jack Kaczmarek
Jack Kaczmarek’s Blog

Blogger, photographer, aspiring podcaster. I love technology and specialty coffee. Writing about anything that interests me.