EXPOSURE: Expectation vs. Reality

Samantha Yates
Jack Morton Australia
4 min readMay 9, 2019

Hey guys, Sam here. I’ll be reflecting on my experience in the EXPOSED grad program at Jack Morton, which will be lovingly referred to as Jack’s, sharing how some of my expectations have measured up to reality. With this being my first creative role at an agency, combined with the eccentric application process (which you can read about here), I really wasn’t sure what I had signed myself up for. I had a few expectations, based only on what I had heard from friends working in other agencies, some personal research and the time I had spent in an orange balaclava during the interview process. I was hoping to strengthen my creative muscle and be pushed out of my comfort zone, but I was also bracing myself to be the designated coffee runner and be working late nights at the office. Was I on the money? Yes and no.

Am I the designated office coffee runner? As a notorious coffee spiller in my previous hospitality life, I am relieved that this expectation has not played out. It is far more likely that someone will ask me to grab a coffee with them, than someone asking me to deliver a coffee to them, even from the senior leadership team. The idea that running coffees is a key component of your job description when you start your career may be a stereotype that I picked up from watching too many bad movies. This may be a reality in other agencies and industries, but it is not something I have experienced. There have been many instances where team members have made themselves available, over a coffee or a wine, to check in or just have a chat. I think these are all small indicators of the reciprocal respect and support system that I have noticed in the Jack’s team.

Am I having to stay in the office and work late nights? Only sometimes, when it’s really needed! Don’t get me wrong, the Jack’s team works hard and when need be, stay late and work together to get the task done. From my perspective, the Jack’s culture is not one of staying late just for the sake of it, which isn’t the case of all companies. There’s an implicit understanding of the balance needed between work and rest to sustainably produce great work. Which is exactly what Jack’s­­ does.

Am I strengthening my creative muscle? Absolutely. This was something I was pretty confident I would be doing based off the quirky application process that initially reeled me in. During one of the first ideation sessions, which seems like a long time ago now, I was asked to think of every conventional aspect of a stage and then think of ways to break them down. This is a simple example, but it is something that really set the scene for how the creative team work through problems. How can we deliver something in an unexpected way? How can we give something new meaning? How can we do it differently? These are all questions that are considered and woven into each creative solution. In the creative team at Jack’s, no idea is too silly or too bold and every opinion is heard and valued.

Although mainly supporting the creative team, I did not anticipate the opportunity to learn from other departments. By helping out different departments I can understand how the business operates. From supporting Strategy in market research to drafting reverse briefs for Accounts or bringing last minute details to life with Production, I can understand how what I’m doing fits into the bigger picture. I think this is nod to the close and collaborative way all the departments work together to make the best work that’s aligned to our client’s goals.

Have I been pushed out my comfort circle? Let me answer that question with a question, isn’t stretching the only way to grow? There have been times where I have felt that I have been thrown in the deep end, but never without support and never into something that I couldn’t handle. As well as exciting challenges, of course there have been quieter times, where I have been encouraged to dive into company case studies, do online short courses or just explore the Internet for weird and wonderful sources of inspiration to support our are.na boards. Whether I am busy helping with a project or learning new Photoshop skills, there is always an opportunity to grow. I know that there is a great support system and as someone who enjoys a challenge, I feel like I’m in a work place where everyone is pushed and encouraged to be their best.

With my first few months already over I am excited to see how the rest of the year will play out. Watch this space in the coming month to read about Cathy’s experience working on a project and seeing it go live in the next EXPOSURE update.

--

--