Girl of My Dreams

Jack Vatsal
JACK’S TAVERN
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2023
First-person POV: A man watching TV, pair of feet and a phone on the table.
Will Porada (Unsplash)

The girl of my dreams texted me today,

saying how good the weather was.

I said yes,

and if I ever had the money, I would spend every summer in a place where it rains all day, like Kerela or Cherrapunji.

The girl of my dreams asked if we could meet around 5:00 in the evening.

I said OK, no problems.

Well…the moment I said that, something happened

the cosmology changed

maybe the moon — it has great effects upon a woman after all.

Anyhow, she was suddenly a little inaccessible.

About an hour later, the girl of my dreams texted that she could get late.

I said it was OK, no problems.

I shaved, showered, tried a couple of outfits and combed my hair.

My pants looked a little old, shoes didn’t match with the T-shirt, and the T-shirt had whiskers coming out of it.

I thought, Goddamn if I ever had to do all of this every day.

After a little while, I took off the shirt and sat bare-chested on a chair in front of the TV.

And sat there for about two hours doing nothing.

Another hour later: I got up, took off my jeans and shoes, and changed back to my boxers.

Just as I did that, the girl of my dreams texted me saying she was sorry, something had sprung up.

I turned on the TV, stretched my feet on the table, and texted her back:

It’s OK, no problems.

--

--

Jack Vatsal
JACK’S TAVERN

Hi. Intellectual 'Jack' Hammer. I break things down. Connect with me at www.linkedin.com/in/jack-vatsal