Journal Entry The First

Jackson Phillips
Jackson Phillips’ Journal
2 min readJul 16, 2019
Reflection

Thinking about thinking was primarily a reflective experience. I had not yet encountered this topic, but I am glad I was able to understand and learn from the material. In high school, my cognitive abilities varied depending on the class, but overall, I tended to be passive. Applying meta-cognition would have assisted my abilities as a student, athlete, and mentor.

I intended to use my college career to improve my learning skills so that I may be able to learn from every experience. I do not yet feel comfortable seeking out areas in which I’m failing, but I hope to cultivate the skills necessary to do so. I believe I am at this point due to the fact that meta-cognition and its effects were not presented to me in high school.

I also completely agree with the statement that we are all confident idiots. I feel very confidently about my knowledge of the NFL, but you could easily ask me a question about it that would stump me. The idea that we muddle through life without much recognition of what we are actually doing is somewhat depressing, but it can seem to be true at times. However, I intend to focus more in every part of my life to improve the quality and meaningfulness of my life.

The discussion revealed how my peers approached this topic and reminded me that I need to reflect more often. My classmates agreed with me in that meta-cognition is a useful and underutilized tool. Reflecting on one’s mistakes and recognizing possible pathways to success are critical strategies for achieving that success. I intend to use the skills I have learned to better myself in every area of my life.

--

--