Journal Entry The Second

Jackson Phillips
Jackson Phillips’ Journal
2 min readJul 18, 2019
The Struggle

Procrastination is something that I personally struggle with every day. It is in the bounds of human nature to choose short-term gratification over long-term freedom. The marshmallow tests confirmed this statement. The children were unable to resist the allure of the treat, just as I am unable to resist the pull to dominate in Apex. The Netflix queue example also resonated with me. My Netflix is also backed up because I tend to choose The Office over more time consuming and deeper-learning subjects. The ability to manage one’s time effectively and efficiently is an art form that I have not yet mastered. The Dark Playground, though fictitious, feels extremely real to those who have been trapped in the “Instant Gratification Monkey’s” paws. It is difficult to pull myself through the murky haze of this playground back to life, but the Panic Monster usually does this for me. Deadlines are fear inducing, but become beacons for panic the closer they arrive. I strive to get my work done as early as possible, but sometimes that stupid monkey wins and procrastination takes over. The discussions have given me an idea of how to tackle this problem. To alleviate this, I plan to create timelines for myself to ensure that all of my tasks are completed before the deadlines, leaving time for perfection.

--

--