Journal Entry the Seventh

Jackson Phillips
Jackson Phillips’ Journal
2 min readJul 31, 2019

The interview between John Donvan and Charles Duhigg revealed to me the nature of daily habits that I subconsciously create and follow. I absolutely agree with the statement that 40% of my daily actions are actually habits. I bite on anything I can while I’m thinking, but I am only just now recognizing this as a habit. The cue, routine, reward model accurately depicts any habits that I come across. Having my phone in eyesight makes me crave to check my social media. Cues such as this limit my ability to get work done. The finding that smokers are more likely to quit while on vacation backs up this idea. Not viewing one’s cues seems to be the most effective route in breaking habits. This could apply to my time in college by breaking my cues. My main problem is that I am unaware of what my cues or habits really are. Procrastination seems to be my worst habit, but that was discussed in a previous journal.

The app that breaks habits seems like a great idea as it provides incentives to stop habits, but I feel that my urge to distract myself with my phone overpowers any app. I have not tried to use technology to break a habit, but I might try in the future. Making the right thing the easy thing is something we should all strive for in the realm of habit breaking, yet it is often difficult to do so. Personally, my academic habits are currently pretty productive, and I would like to keep it that way.

--

--