Journal Entry The Third

Jackson Phillips
Jackson Phillips’ Journal
2 min readJul 22, 2019

This image captures my mental state when I attempt to digest all of the due dates presented to me. Staring down a sizable workload is typically the most stressful time of my day. The interconnected view of diet and stress discussed in the article and in class introduced me to the idea that too much stress can offset healthier aspects of my life. In high school, I was very active and my diet was better than most of my peers. However, stress often left me drained and slow. The readings supported these feelings, and the class discussion revealed that other students have the same problems. I also feel that the data concerning the sedentary lifestyle of teenagers does not apply to me because I walk around eight miles a day and fit in at least an hour of rigorous activity four times a week.

I was aware of UGA’s mental health resources thanks to the multiple orientations we were forced to sit through. I keep tabs on my mental health through others. I trust my friends enough for them to tell me if they feel that something about me has changed. I would not be afraid to schedule counseling if I felt I needed it. I have not yet struggled with my mental health, however, so I would like to continue that trend. I would define emotional health as one’s emotions being kept in check. It is okay to feel every emotion, but when one’s emotional state pushes them to inadvisable action, it could be a sign of poor emotional health. This is different from mental health due to the simple fact that thoughts and emotions are separate. They can influence each other, but are not the same. I would attest that I am emotionally stable because my emotions do not spill over. I am able to stop myself from letting my emotions get the best of me, but I would seek help if it was required.

--

--