The Underworld!

Robert Murray
jahmon
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2007

Two stories below the building I’m staying is the subway. Every 5 minutes, the building begins to rumble as the train passes underneath. Initially, it was a strange experience. But for me, the subway is the best. It’s like Disneyland down there. So much happens on the nyc subway, I feel I could stay there all day.

My first ride on the subway this trip, there was a mariachi band on the train. I’ve heard more strange instruments in the last couple days, than I have ever heard in my life. There is music every where in the underworld. At all hours. Whether it’s the mariachi band in the train, or it’s the guy who just came through the turnstile that has his iPod blasting Jay-Z so loud that you bob your head to it though he is 30 feet away.

My hosts have never been on the subway. They said they don’t understand it. Conversely, I’ve never been to NY and not been on the subway. It’s one of the things that I love about this city. One of the many things. There is so much energy running through the veins of the city, that I can’t help but enjoy it. It’s always exciting.

More than being exciting, it’s almost always scary. There is always at least one person on the train that brings the fear right out of you. And that’s the fun part. Making it to your destination one more time safely. It’s the reason why you get back on the train the next day. Well, that an the music.

--

--

Robert Murray
jahmon
Editor for

Software Engineer (Seeking Opportunities). React. React Native. NodeJS. GraphQL. Swift. iOS. Student of Political Communication. Technologist. Humanist.