1st OFFICIAL Music Video

Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2016

Recently I’ve started to dabble in video and I’m honestly starting to like it more than photography. Photos will always be my bread and butter but Im all for learning something new. One of my favorite indy groups right now is TruKings, One of the reasons I like working with them is i’m genuinely a fan of their music and I don’t mind shooting because they let me do my thing. Most times when people come on set they have a team with them and everybody has a say so in how they feel the final product should be. Most times I don’t listen and do my own thing anyway but its an annoyance. TruKings just show up (with food and alcohol) and its a good time.

When the opportunity presented itself that they needed video and wanted me to shoot it I was nervous but excited at the same time. Nervous because I really don’t know what i’m doing but excited because the video will eventually play on cable television. I researched tons of youtube videos the night before studying angles and the concept they wanted to go with. The inspiration was from the Mos Def video Casa Bey and I knew I couldn’t do it EXACTLY like that but I could get pretty damn close and put my own spin on it. Thankfully their manager was there the day of the shoot and he actually directed which helped me being that was my first video. It took about an hour to shoot and I had the time of my life because it felt like we were just hanging out with a camera.

Because I had studied so much the night before I was prepared and knew that I could edit the entire video in about an hour. After we were done shooting I sat in a corner with my headphones on and went to work. An hour later this was produced…

--

--