Getting played

Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2016

Currently sitting at an event I was told to show up for at 5:30. It is now 7 and it has yet to start. Figured this would be the perfect time to discuss how valuable my time is and how my pricing is about to drastically change.

When I first started shooting it was mainly people I went to school/worked with and “rappers” who were trying to break into the industry. I was giving discounts left and right because I figured I was doing them a favor and that when they made it they would remember me. Believe it or not I was so hungry to get booked for events I shot an entire birthday party for almost 5 hours for $20. Fast forward to today I when I shoot events it’s $75–100hr with a 2hr minimum.

Now here’s my problem with today…

According to this flyer sent to my phone it says doors open at 5:30. I was told to show up at 6. Now of course as a professional I always arrive early to give myself enough time to check out the venue and to setup my area and see what are the best vantage points.

The ONLY reason I’m even here is as a favor to someone who lets me use his facility for photoshoots. Now this sounds like a fair trade and in the long run it is; but damn I’m sitting here basically for free and I have yet to snap a picture or record any footage because they haven’t started yet. Shoot this is probably worse than the birthday party because I’m not getting a dime for sitting here right now. Keep in mind I’m a student in Macon and I drove and sat through traffic to be here on time for free.

Now I’m thinking “why did I agree to sell myself short again” and then it just hit me that when I finally do get to start shouting I’m going to have to take all this footage and edit it for a 2–3 minute YouTube video so that the guy can promote on his website. I have to sit for almost 5hrs AND edit for basically a thank you.

On everything, after today I refuse to pull my camera out anymore if money or some form of compensation is not part of the conversation

--

--