Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2016

--

Got my new business cards today. Probably not the most professional but definitely memorable.

At first it was just a joke. A couple years ago when I used to design t-shirts I came up with a design that said “Hello my name is Dope Ass Photographer”. I was tired of shooting clubs and events and people would try to ask me a million questions and my name over music that was entirely too loud. One of the most annoying questions was “Whats your name?”. As simple as that may be you, try yelling Jahret (pronounced Jarrett) or Rainey over and over again and correcting them 3 to 4 times before they finally get it right in a club. I never carried business cards because I felt like it was a waste. I never keep up with anyone’s contact card and instagram was just starting to really take off. I felt that I could just tell them my username and they would just follow and be able to see my work immediately and make the decision whether or not to contact me in the future.

Fast forward to now where I am a little more seasoned I see now the importance of business cards. I wanted something unique and different from your average card. I of course designed something in photoshop and was about to upload to vistaprint.com but I saw a design that said “HELLO” and it made me think of my design years ago. I thought “hey wouldn’t it be funny if they printed hello my name is dope ass photographer” I ordered 100 and then 500 of my more professional card with my actual name on it and when they arrived today I honestly like the dope ass photographer card better. It has a story behind it and should be sure to start a conversation. Now of course I wouldn’t give it to like a CEO of a multimillion dollar corporation, but it should be fine for everyone else

--

--