Meet Professional Photographer Velvet Lenae

Rainey
Jahret Rainey
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2016

For about two years now I’ve been calling Velvet “My Favorite Photographer” Her studio lighting is what originally drew me to her work and every time she posted I would say “Damn how did she do that”. Velvet was also one of the first photographers to take my publication serious when I launched MOT Magazine and contributed many photos to our early issues helping it build credibility. I knew she was on another level when she launched her book “Bare it All” because not many photographers in this area invest the time and effort to put together something like that in a tasteful way. I was honored to have Velvet agree to this interview.

What began your photography career and at what point did you decide to take your craft serious?

A Wedding Photographer asked if I was interested in photography as more than a hobby and asked if I would like to be her assistant photographer. She took me under a wing for the first month and taught me a lot. Within the second month, I bought a entry level DSLR- Nikon D40 and was able to practice on my own. while continuing to learn from her. I always had a love for photography but never thought about it beyond being a hobby. After assisting with my first wedding, I fell in love and I’ve never looked back since. I took my craft serious in 2005 when I lived in Atlanta the first time, after taking my photography from hobby to professional.

How important is it to “Stay ahead of the game”

It’s extremely important. There’s so much technology out there that makes non-photographers believe that they can do what we do. Between technology and the software that seems to be getting easier and easier for a person to press a button and get the results that we get after hours of editing, it’s important that we stay ahead of the game, be creative and find a style that others can’t or will have a hard time duplicating. Everybody can buy a camera and software with filters that can make an image look professional, but you determine and create a style that others will want to hire you for. You create art that others will be drawn to and can’t recreate.

At what point did you take yourself serious as a photographer?

Well when I got my business cards back in 2007 and called my “business” Velvet Touch Photography”, I considered myself professional. But I think I didn’t really invest in myself, really learn the craft and study to learn more and more as I went along until I moved back to Atlanta in 2012. When I moved back and took a look at my competition, realizing that I needed to step my game up and learn more than what was just taught to me when first learning. I took it upon myself to invest in classes, read books in my spare time, shadow other photographers and find my niche in this industry…and then 2 years later, around 2014 is when I felt confident enough to refer to myself as a professional photographer. And not just because I had the business card that said so.

How important is social media?
Oh my goodness, social media is very important. Although I get a lot of business by word of mouth, the other big portion of my business comes from social media. The power of hashtags, sharing, having multiple social media platforms, all play a big role in others not only wanting to hire you professionally, but also to share your ART in general. I feel that social media has helped keep ART alive.

Do you feel like the industry is oversaturated with photographers right now?

I do feel like the industry is over saturated, especially in Atlanta. A few reasons include GWC’s (Guys with cameras) that think it’s cool or have ulterior motives to call themselves a professional photographer and get a half nude and/or nude girl in front of their camera. Another reason is that I think that people will go buy equipment and have business cards made and think that they can make easy and quick money from it.

How would you describe your style

I talked about finding your style earlier but this is a tough question for me because I don’t feel like it’s quite where I want it to be. I like to consider myself a Lifestyle Photographer that also specializes in Boudoir and Erotic Photography. The reason why I struggle is because I like a natural look and feel. I prefer to be in a person’s familiar environment or on location and not just a studio. I also prefer to keep the natural look of a person and not reconstruct their whole body to look perfect. This is the reason why my focus is not only on models, but regular people want to look like models and look mag ready. They know the tools we use and the power in them to make them look how they want. When I consult with my clients, I inform them of my style and try to show them how keeping it natural and not overly photoshopped can also look and be beautiful. Some don’t see it that way and that’s my struggle.

What are your current goals? In other words what are you trying to accomplish as a photographer?

I am working on being a full time photographer. I also have an erotic book out and I am working on the 2nd book, along with elevating my erotic work on a larger platform for people to notice, share and buy. My erotic book is special to me because I discovered and incorporated another medium of being an artist. Most writers only write books that include no images. Most photographers create coffee table books with no writing. I capture the erotic images and couple it with a short story or poem. I would love to continue and be known for that in addition to my everyday photography.

What advice would you give those who aspire to be like you?

This is hard to say as well because I feel like I’m always learning and with all the great photographers out there, it’s surprises me when other aspiring photographers tell me they would like to learn from me. The only thing that I can say is that it’s a never-ending learning experience. As you go along, stay true to your style of art. Don’t let anybody change your direction because it sells, because it will get the girls, because celebrities will book you, because it will get you the most likes, because you’ll be social media famous, etc. Do it because art is in your heart and find fame and success from your originality.

Where can we see more of your work and how can others get in contact with you?
Websites: Velvet Lenae Website

Sencere Moments Photography

Email: info@velvetlenae.com

Contact: 678 551 0141

Related Sites Photography:

FB Fan Page

Twitter and Instagram- @smphotography_v and @secretlysexxy

Pinterest

LinkedIn

Related Sites Book:

Bare It All Web Site

Soft Cover

Hard Cover

Apple Digital Formats

All Other Digital Formats

Sneak Peaks of Work from Book

Tumblr- www.velvetlena.tumblr.com

--

--